top of page
Search

Bone Broth Recipe



Every morning the first thing I do when I wake up is heat up a cup of bone broth on my stove and once it has cooled, I consume it. Some people think this sounds crazy because who would want to drink something savory when they wake up instead of coffee or tea like the average American? Well I'll be the first one to say, in the beginning it wasn't easy and I didn't want to. After I chose (forced myself) to do this for about a week or two it became part of my routine and now I can't go without that cup of broth to start my day.




WHY BONE BROTH?


Bone broth has many different benefits, like healing and sealing the digestive tract, reducing inflammation throughout the body, boosting the immune system, and supporting bone, joint, and skin health. Along with these benefits, it is also packed with many nutrients and minerals like collagen, amino acids, potassium, zinc, iron, calcium, magnesium, and selenium.


WHY NOT STORE BOUGHT BONE BROTH?


Some ingredients that are snuck into store bought bone broths that you want to avoid are: hydrolyzed proteins, vegetable oils, flavoring, seasonings, preservatives, bouillon, and yeast. Another key factor in buying bone broth and making your own is the source of your bones. If your broth isn't made with organic bones where the animals are free-range, grass fed, antibiotic-free, etc. You will end up releasing all of the toxins, chemicals, and heavy metals from unhealthy animal bones and in the end, drinking it.


I get it, not every one has the time or resources to make their own bone broth and that's okay. With that being said, if you are going to buy some that is pre-made I strongly suggest buying from a source that you can trust. I highly recommend AliMade Bone Broth.



LET'S GET STARTED


INGREDIENTS

  • 1-2 lbs. animal bones of your choice

  • 1 yellow or red onion

  • 2 carrots

  • 2-3 stalks of celery

  • 1 jalapeño (remove seeds)

  • 1 garlic bulb

  • 3 stalks fresh thyme

  • 3 stalks fresh rosemary

  • 2 stalks fresh sage

  • 2 stalks fresh basil

  • 1 cup fresh parsley

  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

  • 1/8 cup Himalayan salt

  • 1 Tablespoon peppercorns

  • 7 quarts water


INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Start by boiling your bones for 20 minutes in a pot of water. If your bones still have meat on them that is great and will add to the flavor.

  2. Roast your bones in the oven at 400 degrees until the bones are golden/brown. This should take about 30-45 minutes and this step is very important for flavorful broth.

  3. Chop the onion, carrots, celery, jalapeño, and garlic. I usually remove most of the seeds in the jalapeño (I keep only 2-3), the more you keep the spicier it will be so this step will be your personal preference.

  4. Add all of the ingredients listed into a crock pot or instant pot.

  5. Cook in the crock pot for 24-48 hours. The broth should constantly be simmering, you can stir it along the way if you'd like. *Instant pot version* cook on high pressure for as long as your instant pot setting goes. Let the pressure naturally release and then set your instant pot to "slow cooker" mode for 12-24 hours.

  6. Once you are done cooking the broth, let it cool before handling it.

  7. Strain out all of the bones and others ingredients.

  8. Store in a glass jar and enjoy!


TIPS & TRICKS

  1. You can use any animal bones of your choice (beef, chicken, turkey, pork, lamb, etc.) I personally only make beef and chicken. I order my organic bones from Grassroots ranch in Porter, OK. If you are not local, I would check with different farms or butchers that are local to you.

  2. I use fresh herbs but you can always use an online conversion chart if you choose to use dried herbs and need exact measurements.

  3. Making bone broth is a long process so be patient and experiment with what suits your taste buds. After it is finished if you feel like you should add more salt or pepper or even extra herbs then I encourage you to go for it!

  4. Bone broth should be gelatinous after it has cooled. For an extra gel in your chicken broth, add chicken feet when you cook it.

  5. This recipe will make 6 quarts of broth. If you'd like, you can double or cut the.

  6. recipe in half based off of the size of your cooking pot.

  7. Bone broth will maintain it's quality in the refrigerator for 1 week, the freezer for 6 months, and a deep freezer for 1 year.

  8. I pour my bone broth in quart-sized mason jars and freeze them until I am ready to use them.

  9. If you don't enjoy drinking straight bone broth, you can use it in any recipes that call for normal broth or use it when making mashed potatoes, rice, etc.

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page